In the Booth with Ruth – Sherry Dooley, Artist & Survivor of Prostitution

Ruth Jacobs

Sherry Dooley

First published on Impolite Conversation – 6 August 2013

Can you tell me when you first took an interest in art? What inspired you, and how did you begin creating your own art?

I always enjoyed drawing and painting when I was in elementary school. I created women with big boobs and big heads – my father would refer to them as ‘fat-headed Alices’, and still does to this day; my mother provided crayons and paint: I was encouraged to create. My favourite classes in school were art class. I excelled creatively, while I struggled in every other subject. I had learning disabilities, which left me with a ‘less than’ self-image.  I felt as if something was ‘wrong’ with me. When I hit my teen years, I lost the passion for creating. Unseen forces took centre stage, as all my pain and confusion surfaced. Pain and confusion about being adopted…

View original post 1,410 more words

Leave a Reply

